RUE THE DAY by Cat Muldoon


If you had asked me 3 years ago whether I would write a novel, I most likely would have laughed and said no. You see, I never meant to write a novel. As a matter of fact, when I wrote Rue the Day: The Undercover Heir Book 1, I only meant to write a short story.

Here’s what happened. I live in the Ozarks, and we have a lot of misty mornings. So one day I was getting a breath of fresh morning air and talking to the birds. Fog shrouded the trees and put me in mind of Celtic stories about passing through the mists into other realms. The book The Mists of Avalon is one example of a book that taps into these stories.

So a character came to me who had lived as a human but was truly Faerie (old spelling of what we now see most often, fairy). Her mother Neala wandered into the mists that rise at times to allow passage between the worlds while pregnant with her. When she was a tot, Aislinn and her mother Neala became separated on a misty morning. Someone found the child and she lived in one foster home after another. She knew nothing of her Faerie heritage. All this was the “back story” which in a good novel you do not discover right away.

The book begins on a misty morning in the Ozarks, and Aislinn is drawn into the mists by her cat Bree. She then has a peculiar encounter with a man who says he is her kinsman. He attempts to take her “home,” but after a rough life in a skeptical world, she has no intention of wandering off with a strange man, no matter how friendly he appears to be.

I intended to write a short story about Aislinn returning to her homeland. But a Muse stopped by and I offered her a drink, and since humans do not typically notice Muses, much less offer them chocolate liqueur, she must have decided that I should not write a short story, but a novel.
So that is why I say that I accidentally wrote a novel. Some might say that I was aiming for a short story and overshot by 85,000 words, but in truth, situations and characters came to me and would not let me go until they found expression. The whole plot for Rue came to me quickly, and it took me 14 weeks to catch up and write everything down. It never occurred to me at the time that writing an entire novel from first word to final draft in less than four months was remarkable, but over two dozen writers have expressed a stunning degree of awe that I could do such a thing.

My answer? I never told myself I could not write quickly, so I had no bad programming to overcome.

While I wrote Rue, naturally after all that time developing Faerie, the fantastic Celtic knotwork castle, and the nice twisty plot, I had an idea for a couple more novels. I also came to understand first hand why fantasy authors so often do series, aside from commercial considerations. It would take far too much work to invent a new world for each book!

So there you have the story behind the book Rue the Day, The Undercover Heir, Book 1. I encourage you to read excerpts at http://catmuldoon.com/. I will let you in on a special offer…you want to register to receive excerpts of the book and other stories, because I am giving away prizes. You could win a set of 3 music CDs like what I listened to while writing Rue. They have beautiful Celtic music. I am also giving away another prize which I will announce December 14.

I love meeting authors and finding out what inspires you.

Virtual Book Tour: I am SO excited to be on tour this month, thanks to Dorothy Thompson and her crew at Pump Up Your Book Promotions. My tour page can be found here. Comment on the tour page or one of my stops and you could win a copy of Rue the Day.

Ask Me A Question and I’ll (probably) Answer: I have a blog post on Communati where you may ask me a question about writing, my book, or whatever and I will most likely answer. Check out http://communati.com/main/ask-author-cat-muldoon-would-you-let-your-book-be-turned-movie

Thank you for your interest, and please drop me a note!

Cat Muldoon http://catmuldoon.com/

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

