HONOR DUE by D.H. Brown: “I have been asked this question many times and I still don’t have a slick answer.”


I have been asked this question many times and I still don’t have a slick answer. It all started to meld about 3 years ago when, with some encouragement from my doctor and therapist, I started writing down the bones of a couple long-held story lines. Much is autobiographical blended with parts of many people who have made an impression on me. I could see in my mind’s eye the main character, the Major, as I’ve known a man or two like him. I spent many a long night working on developing him. More than six months. As well as the book’s other characters. Then one day I decided I’d dangled my feet in the water long enough and it was time to swim. HONOR DUE was essentially finished in 3 months. The locale is real easy to write about. I fell in love with the Pacific Northwest rainforest 26 years ago, and have never looked back. The vast tracks of timberland make me feel as if anyone could hide out here forever. I’d always thought the West End of Washington’s Olympic Peninsula would lend itself to some sort of mystery or thriller, and is a fine piece of real estate for people who want to mind their own business.

Back to the book. I knew I wanted to write something that felt authentic. I wanted the characters to be alive in their environment and to describe the beauty of this wonderful corner of God’s green earth. I hope ‘The Citizen Warrior’ series encompasses this objective. So many books today turn me off with action that can’t possibly happen and with a cast of characters I wouldn’t have to dinner. They’re neurotic, full of angst and can’t seem to tie their own shoes without agonizing over it. They bumble and stumble along until I want to reach into the page and give ’em a good shake, telling them “to get on with it!” When I read about an assassin, I want to read about a person I can believe will kill you without blinking an eye. Bang! You’re dead! That’s what I did with the Major. I figured that after 35 years in the world’s killing fields and was still alive, his days of making fundamental errors in judgment were over. You cross him, and he won’t be asking you why you did it. After you’re dead, if the why interests him he might look into the matter. Otherwise you just stepped into high doodoo and ain’t getting a second chance.

D.H. Brown is the author of HONOR DUE. You can visit his website at www.dhbrownbooks.com.

D.H.’s virtual book tour is brought to you by the fine folks of Pump Up Your Book Promotion and choreographed by Jean Lauzier.

Leave a Reply

