ONE FOOT OUTSIDE THE DOOR by Vina St. Fran: “…timing was the inspiration for me.”


I have always loved to write, even as a youngster. The opportunity to create poetry or write stories was a big part of my junior high and high school years. Life takes us on many detours, as I have been rerouted on my journey as an author.

I must admit that timing was the inspiration for me to write “One Foot Outside The Door”. I initially made so many excuses because my schedule was pretty hectic. When everything in my life calmed, it was a natural progression for me to begin writing again.

I wanted to embrace relationships between people across culture lines as I experienced in my neighborhood subdivision growing up. Often, in mainstream fiction, you find stories that represent one group with maybe a minor character that happens to be another race but they don’t impact the storyline. My goal was to set out and change this because for me, that wasn’t reality. My reality wasn’t found in print at the local independent or national book store chains. I had to bring it to life and give it a voice in my own words.

This light bulb like catharsis fed my inspiration which drove me to complete “One Foot Outside The Door” while remaining focused the majority of the time. There isn’t a greater joy than expanding your audience with readers who grow with you as they get to know you. Timing continues to be a great source of inspiration for me as I work on new material. Ironically, timing is something I used to hate because I found it hard to prioritize, but now, it is my best friend.

Leave a Reply

