WHEN A MAN LOVES A WOMAN by LaConnie Taylor-Jones: “I wanted my story lines to focus on real-life situations…”


From the time I learned to read, I always had a book in my hands. However, becoming a writer was never something I was particularly interested in or ever considered doing. In the fall of 1979, I read my first romance novel, The Flame in the Flower by the late Kathleen Woodiwiss and was hooked. I didn’t realize it then, but that night was the beginning of a twenty-five year journey that would eventually land me on the road to publication.

It was the challenge from my husband in the spring of 2003 that first made me seriously consider writing. One night I was in bed reading a romance novel and unfortunately, the story wasn’t for me. It was past midnight and my husband, obviously tired of hearing me whine said, “Honey, if you can write a better book, do it. Now turn out the lights, please.”

The inspiration for this story came from experience as a health educator. For the last fifteen years, I’ve taught health education primarily to African American women in community-based settings. Oftentimes, before I can lecture on the risk factors associated with chronic diseases disproportionally impacting African Americans, first, I must deal with the soci-economic deterrents women face. Generally, the premise of my books centers on a health and/or social related issue. Once I decided to roll the dice and write romance, I wanted my story lines to focus on real-life situations readers could relate to.

When A Man Loves A Woman is the sequel to my debut novel, When I’m With You. In this story, A.J. Baptiste is center stage. He’s a single father and pediatrician with eyes for Victoria (Vic) Bennett. However, Vic has sworn off men and promises to keep her heart closed to the option of love when her ex-husband betrays her. Readers will see how a woman’s life that was once shattered is made whole again.

LaConnie Taylor-Jones is the author of the contemporary romance novel, WHEN A MAN LOVES A WOMAN. You can visit her website at www.laconnietaylorjones.com.

2 thoughts on “WHEN A MAN LOVES A WOMAN by LaConnie Taylor-Jones: “I wanted my story lines to focus on real-life situations…”

  1. I like the premise of this novel, LaConnie. I’ve actually known men whose wives have left them for a woman, so this plot sounds not onl plausible, but a great storyline for a broken heart that needs mending.

    Good luck with the tour.

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

