THE SITTING SWING by Irene Watson: “…it shows how we can re-write the life scripts that have been passed down for generations.”


The Sitting Swing: Finding Wisdom to Know the Difference is a story of a portion of my own life I had to tell so that others could find hope and freedom, and knowing they too can heal their own lives, regardless of how shattered they feel they are. At first, I didn’t know what direction I would take the book into or even what I would write about, but like most people, I knew I had a book inside me and my story had to be told.

So…I started writing. I started in a chronological order and reflecting on my life from birth. I am gifted with a memory that goes back as early as 2 years old. My experiences are very vivid and clear. (And, confirmed by my mother.) As I started writing a lot of “stuff” came up for me; mostly memories of the emotional, and sometimes physical, abuse I received growing up. But, I kept on writing, and writing, and writing…. It was very cathartic for me. And, I got a lot of aha moments.

Once I completed writing about the distinct parts that I felt influenced the dysfunction in my own life, I started looking at the “why” I reacted as I did, or how those same experiences influence my own thoughts and actions. Again, cathartic.

I had already been at the recovery center in Quebec and was able to deal with much of the trauma I experienced, but re-visiting the experiences seemed to solidify and allow me to even move more forward in my life than I had before. The 28-days in the recovery center is what saved my life and gave me the understanding of why I behaved as I did, and why I accumulated the addictions I did. Of course, the experience at the center had to be part of my story. It shows how I rebelled against anything they were telling me – ohhhh, did I have an attitude! However, it was where I got the explanations to my questions of “why?” It was my turning point.

However, The Sitting Swing: Finding Wisdom to Know the Difference isn’t just about my story. It is full of explanations of the “why” we behave as we do, “why” we act and react the way we do, and there is a lot about finding our spiritual self – the authentic place we all have. In the end, it shows how we can re-write the life scripts that have been passed down for generations. We no longer need to be prisoners of someone else’s visions and thoughts, we can actually create our own lives. That’s the bottom-line message of the book. And, it works, because I know – I’ve been there.

Irene Watson is the author of the spellbinding memoir, The Sitting Swing.  You can visit her website at www.irenewatson.com.

2 thoughts on “THE SITTING SWING by Irene Watson: “…it shows how we can re-write the life scripts that have been passed down for generations.”

Leave a Reply

