ACROSS THE POND by Barry Eva (aka Storyheart)


across-the-pondUp until this book I have mainly worked on short romance stores, a quick 5/10 minute read. While these have been read an enjoyed at my site. I wanted to write something with a little more depth and substance.

So deciding to write a novel I had to almost teach myself to write all over again. Thankfully there is plenty of help and encouragement out there. Joining the SCBWI (Society of Book Writers and illustrators) was a great help and I was able to use my local monthly meeting as a sounding board especially through the hard graft of the early chapters.

They say “write about what you know” and after moving from England to the U.S.A. I certainly know all about the complications one can run into when I moved “across the pond”. Many of the parts in my book “Across the Pond” I can relate to from first hand experiences, you could say that the main character has a lot of me in him. Like Hitchcock used to appear in his own films, you could say I am there in the book; even my local “watering hole” gets a mention

I wanted to write something for a younger audience both with humor and with romance and came up with this story. The inspiration coming from my own migration from England to the USA in 2000 and what I have run into since being here. My previous romance writing experience also helped shape the story. The characters actually started out a little younger in my mind, however when the romance side developed so did their ages.

While writing the short stories did not help with planning the novel, it did help with creating the hooks at the end of each chapter, something to make the reader keep turning the pages. Many people and reviews have commented on the fact that once they started reading the book they could not stop until the end. So this seems to have worked.

I always try and add humor to what I write and love putting twists in the story to keep the reader guessing.

In the end I am very pleased with what has been the result of my writing; Across the Pond has in its short three months since publication received great reviews from ages ranging from ten to eighty.
_________________

barry-evaBorn in Barnet, Hertfordshire, Barry, also known as “Storyheart”, left his beloved England in 2000, moving to the USA to be with the woman he’d met and fallen in love with on the Internet.

Better known for his short romance stories on the net and in his book “Stories from the Heart”.Barry is popular for narrating his stories on local TV or as a guest on other media stations,where his whit, oratory, and old-fashioned English charm make him a popular interviewee.

At present, Barry is living in Connecticut, with his wife and two children.

You can visit Storyheart’s website at http://www.across-t-pond.com.

across-the-pond-banner1

2 thoughts on “ACROSS THE POND by Barry Eva (aka Storyheart)

  1. Pingback: Pump Up Your Book Promotion’s February Authors on Tour - Day 18 « Pump Up Your Book Promotion Virtual Book Tours

Leave a Reply

