FINDING FAITH IN A SKEPTICAL WORLD by Chet Galaska


I was an atheist confident in my unbelief. Man’s endless selfishness and destructiveness, the deaths caused by natural disasters, and the relentless march of science to explain everything without God constantly reinforced my views. At the same time, the foibles of holier-than-thou religious types demonstrated their moral failings.

I believed atheism was correct. And the fact that it conferred a sense of intellectual superiority over those who had faith was a nice bonus. It’s like today’s atheists who call themselves “Brights” and swagger around decrying the intellectual bankruptcy of anybody who disagrees.

When our kids were born my wife and I planned to bring them up with religious training. I wouldn’t interfere with exposing them to a belief system that, wrong as it may be, gives many people comfort. Discussing my views could wait until they were older.

As we searched for a church, I felt life would be easier if I didn’t have to put on a charade for the next eighteen years. Soon, stories in the media appeared that dealt with some of the reasons I doubted. In the midst of this, a businessman I respected stopped in. I asked him what he thought about religion and he turned out to be a committed Christian. Since I asked, he was delighted to tell me what he believed and why. It took me aback because I didn’t expect him to believe at all. At this point, God was really on my mind.

I had read a book, “PJ Funnybunny,” to my older son every night for weeks. As I walked into his room one evening I silently thought “God, if he wants to read The Child’s Book About God instead of PJ, then I’ll believe.” Jon had PJ in his hands, put it down, went to a bookshelf holding around forty identically bound Golden Books, pulled out the “God” book, gave it to me and said, “I want to read this tonight.” We had never read that book before and I don’t think Jon even knew what it was.

So I believe in God.

But the question of who he is remained fuzzy. I was eventually invited by my physician to attend a Sunday school class on handling stress through faith. The lessons made sense and they piqued my interest in Christ. After the course ended I began attending church, joined a Bible study group and realized that my old certainty about God’s nonexistence was based on misconceptions and bad information. I realized that unbelievers deliberately close themselves off from spiritual truth and this lack of receptiveness is what makes them so convicted.

Finding Faith in a Skeptical World explains many issues that kept me from belief but later became reasons for faith. Finding the information was time-consuming and sometimes difficult, and I realized that a book that presented it briefly, readably and understandably would have been helpful to me in my search.

None was available, so I wrote one hoping it’ll help others come to faith.

C. William “Chet” Galaska was born in 1951. He began his college career at Drew University in Madison, NJ and graduated from the University of Hartford, West Hartford, CT with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. In 1979 he co-founded a company that casts stainless steel for use in corrosive industrial applications that grew into a multi-million dollar enterprise and was its president for 24 years before changing careers and becoming a real estate investor.

His credentials are defined by what he is not. He isn’t a theologian, pastor, Ph.D. or a philosopher but is a typical person who was an unbeliever, influenced by the same things as other skeptics, who became a Christian after several years of investigating the faith with an open mind.

He served as Chairman of the New England Chapter of the American Foundry Society, played rugby, earned a Private Pilot’s License, is a Certified Scuba Diver, has skydived, is a roller coaster aficionado, likes traveling and enjoys having new experiences. He lives with his wife, Lisa, in Massachusetts. They have two grown sons, Jon and Drew.

You can visit Chet online at www.triadpress.us

Leave a Reply

