DIARY OF A MAD GEN Y ER by Marcus Dino


Diary of a Mad Gen Y erEeeeeeeeeek I’m just so excited to be writing this blog. I’ve had so many recently on this blog tour. Ok I’m not Marcus; I’m Fifi Larouche, struggling actress/waitress who is determined come heck or high water to make it to the top of the mountain in Hollywood and will let no one stop me, the main character in Diary of a Mad Gen Yer. Marcus is just so busy you know with his school job……..He says he’s like teaching six periods and is grading all these papers and just doesn’t quite have the time to write these blogs, so I’m filling in for him. It really doesn’t matter because I’m actually the real author of Diary and Marcus’s first book, Fifi; Anything Goes in the Double Os. I’m a real person who gives Marcus my stories but he’s better at things like grammar than him so he takes all the credit as ‘author.’ Beside’s Fifi by Fifi would sound a bit funny wouldn’t it? Without me Marcus would write a book with excerpts like “See Rebecca run up the hill with Jack and Jill and Fifi and then they all went to Hollywood.” A nice fella but not with much imagination, I do have a bit of spice in my life and they’re shown in my stories which I’m sure you’ll find a bit more interesting than “Ohhhhhhh Fifi had just another interesting day where she accidentally stepped on the shoes of a wolf who tried to make a pass at her at the restaurant, then in the afternoon she got rejected at her hundredth audition, then when she came home she snapped at her lovely roommate Marissa who asked her ‘how her day went,’ then she calls up her boyfriend Biff late at night about how much she hates Hollywood and wants to go back home to Des Moines, then she cries herself to sleep.” I mean that kind of stuff is too ho hum, too ho hum, you’ll never see that in my silly stories and my silly blogs.

Now as for the things that inspired me to write Diary. These are my daily struggles my dear…..Silly things that go on in my life in a daily basis; well that’s where the ‘short short’ stories come from. I mean face way it, some of the ‘dreams’ I have in Diary are more entertaining than any movie or TV show you see today. My good old ‘right cerebrum,’ making up all these fun nightly picture shows up when I am sound asleep. Sometimes I really hate getting up to the world of ‘reality’ after enjoying being in one of my silly dreams. Now my blog Fifi’s Thoughts well they are just like daily thoughts that come out of my head at the end of a long day after say getting rejected an umpteenth time at an audition or after another frustrating day dealing with ornery customers at my waitressing job…….Ditto for my silly poems, silly thoughts that come out of my head and that I then put it into ‘poetic form’…..Now my fairy alter ego ‘Flifi’ from the ‘Alternate Earth’ she just gives a lot of good advice to kids and people unlike these other fairies who fly around and throw pixie dust all over the place.

Let me tell you about some of the other characters in Diary, there’s my best friend Alocki who is an alien from another planet and the smartest person I ever met, my liberal and fellow wannabe actor boyfriend Biff (we wannabe actors need to stick together), and my as I said before there’s my fairy alter ego Flifi. There’s also a few ‘minor’ but just as interesting characters like Dick, a stuck English Oxford grad atheist/scientist friend I love arguing ‘religion versus evolution’ with There’s the ‘200 year old Great Writer’ from the ‘Astral World.’ Omigosh I love listening to him, an Englishman from the ‘days of Dickens and Emily Bronte.’ There’s Helos who along with Alocki is from Zatoris which orbits our nearest star Alpha Centauri. Helos is like the second smartest person I ever met but he can be a bit absent minded, you know just like really smart people can be.

So anyways I really enjoy writing this blog for you people and hope your read Diary when you have the chance. I mean that is when you can find the time to read Diary. I know some of you people are quite busy and don’t have much free time. You know you need to walk your pet wallaby and stuff like that.

Marcus Dino has had an interesting professional career, first as an Aerospace engineer, next as a passionate math teacher teaching in urban Los Angeles which he currently still does, and finally, as a part time literary fiction author.  It is Mr Dino’s being a die hard movie buff that led him to writing Diary of a Mad Gen Yer in addition to his first novel, Fifi, Anything goes in the Double Os, first published in 2003.  Mr Dino is a graduate of Chapman University and he also has Masters Degrees in both Education and Electrical Engineering. Diary of a Mad Gen Yer and Fifi can be found at www.smashwords.com and www.summertimproductions.net.  Mr Dino’s personal website which includes numerous blogs, short stories, and poems involving his central character Fifi Larouche, which helped inspire him to write his anthology, Diary, can be found at www.authorsden.com/marcusdino.

One thought on “DIARY OF A MAD GEN Y ER by Marcus Dino

  1. Pingback: Pump Up Your Book Promotion’s August Authors on Virtual Book Tour – Day 17 « Pump Up Your Book Promotion Virtual Book Tours

Leave a Reply

