The Story Behind ‘ The Jewish Lady, The Black Man and The Road Trip’ by Carol Sue Gershman


The Road Trip

My lover walked out on me and I wanted to get him back! I took all of my negative energy and pain and turned it into writing. He and he alone was my inspiration!

It all started when I took a memoir writing course at Dade County College. I had previously written a two and half page story about a road trip I had taken with him and brought it an as an assignment. My friends and family had enjoyed my story.

Well, the class did not feel the same, thinking it was poorly written and kind of blah! I was more than insecure about myself as a writer and remember feeling terrible but challenged/ For the next four classes, I rewrote the story countless times becoming more and more inspired.

After one month I announced to my teacher, that I was going to write a book. I was on a mission. I wanted to shock my lover with our written story. We would read it together, realize our mistakes and go back together again.

For nine months morning noon and night all that I did was write. One day during one of the months the management knocked on the door saying there was water coming from my apartment. I said, “not here.” I turned around a saw a flood almost to my feet – that is how absorbed I was into writing.

It has been a joy and the whole process huge, bringing me on to new dimensions in my life that I never thought possible. In some ways, I am a completely different person.

***
Constantly reinventing herself, Carol Sue Gershman attended the Miami Dade College memoir class and decided that she would turn her two and a half page “Adventure in Love Story” into a book. Never having written before, it was passion that drove her each day to write.

After spending 25 years in New York City, she was one of the first to arrive into the new phenomenon of Miami Beach (South Beach) She is presently writing her next book while working on laws to ban
smoking in residential buildings.

Now at 73 she will take her completed book back on the road re-living the cities and states visited on the road trip. You might just see her driving her hot yellow mustang convertible packed with books, hats and what it takes for life on the road.

You can visit her website by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

