The Story Behind The Magic Warble by Victoria Simcox


The Magic Warble by Victoria Simcox (click on cover to purchase)

I can remember sitting with my three children in the movie theater watching the very first Harry Potter movie when a particular vision came to my mind. It was of a twelve year old girl with long blond hair, bundled up in winter clothes, running excitedly down a snowy sidewalk lined with turn of the century houses. Clutched tightly to her chest, she held a burgundy hat box and snow the size of cotton balls was gracefully falling all around her. For some reason, I knew that this was the beginning of a story I wanted to write, and even though I highly enjoyed the flick that night, I was at the same time replaying this vision I had experienced over and over in my mind. After the movie, I went home inspired to write a story of my own, but there was one slight problem, I had no idea what it was going to be about. I sat down at my computer and began to write whatever popped into my mind. Soon I began to feel like my characters took on a life of their own and that I was just tagging along with them and telling their story. I think looking at it this way has made my journey as a writer very enjoyable and I wake up each morning wondering where my characters will lead me todayWhen I finished my manuscript, I began to do some research on how to submit it to agents and publishers. I bought a copy of the Children’s Writer and Illustrator Market Guild and thoroughly studied it. I learned how to write a query letter and a synopsis. Then I began sending my manuscript out to the agents and publishers listed as accepting submissions in the guild as well as the internet. After a fair amount of rejections, Two Harbors Press accepted my manuscript and within eight months my story was published. It was a very special day when the mailman came to my door with my very first copy of The Magic Warble.

Victoria, known as Vicki, was born in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, to an Austrian immigrant mother, and a Dutch immigrant father. She has one older sister. When she was 7, Vicki moved with her family to British Columbia. Then in her early twenties to Western Washington, where she now resides in Marysville WA. She has been married for almost 20 years, and has 3 children. For the past 10 years, she has home schooled her children, and she also teaches elementary school art. Her other family members are, a Chihuahua, named Pipsy, 2 cats, named Frodo and Fritz, and 1 parakeet, named Pauly. She did have a pet rat named Raymond; when she started writing The Magic Warble, but sad to say, he has since passed away of old age. Vicki enjoys writing, reading, painting watercolors, good movies and just hanging out with friends and family. Her favorite author is C.S. Lewis, and one of her fondest memories is when she was 12. She would sit at the kitchen table, and read the Chronicles of Narnia to her mother while she cooked dinner. These magical stories were very dear to Vicki, and she remembers wishing, If only I could go to Narnia like Lucy and Susan. Vicki hopes that maybe she can touch someone with her story in a similar way.

Website: www.themagicwarble.com

Blog: victoriasimcox.blogspot.com

Facebook: Victoria Simcox

youtube book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cax8Pbpa7E

2 thoughts on “The Story Behind The Magic Warble by Victoria Simcox

  1. Pingback: Virtual Book Tour: Children’s Fantasy Author Victoria Simcox Visits The Story Behind the Book « Let’s Talk Virtual Book Tours

Leave a Reply

