The Story Behind Tales for Delicious Girls by Barbora Knobova


Barbora KnobovaI’ve always been a bookworm. My grandfather was a writer and books have always been very important in the life of my family. I learned to read and write when I was four years old and I’ve been in love with literature ever since. I’ve been writing since childhood and already when I was a kid I loved creating new worlds and characters that could go where I couldn’t, that lived what I couldn’t live.

I have always wanted to write a book about women and for women. I think we women are absolutely amazing and our world is full of power, strength, empathy, love. I knew I would eventually write a women’s book but I couldn’t find the right moment and inspiration. I had been writing articles for magazines for years but it was nothing like writing a book. My muse was still sleeping and it was actually my mum who woke her up. She said: “Your dating life is just insane! All these stories would make a great book. Why don’t you put them down on paper?” I was reluctant at first but then I decided to give it a try.

Tales for Delicious Girls by Barbora Knobova (click on cover to purchase)

In a way, I wrote Tales for Delicious Girls twice. My first book was published in Europe in 2007, it is called Stories for Big Girls. It was a bestseller, it was nominated for two literary awards and appeared on the list of 25 Best Books of the Year. In many ways, Stories for Big Girls was the starting point for Tales for Delicious Girls, although Tales for Delicious Girls goes much deeper.

There was lots of thorough research involved before I even started to write Tales for Delicious Girls. I studied my and my friends’ love life and it involved long evenings spent over Earl Grey and cookies, talking about men, relationships and love. I even met some of my ex-boyfriends, which was so much fun. Thanks to my book research many of them even became my friends and all negative feelings from the past were forgotten.

Once I started writing, I realized that there was much more to my stories. That they outlined my own personal path to self-love, self-respect and relationship maturity, that there was lots of personal growth in them. At the time I started working as a love coach and I knew many women who were fighting the same battles I had fought a long time ago. Therefore I wanted my book to be much more than a simple short-story book. I wanted it to be hilarious so that women could laugh and have a good time when reading it, but at the same time I wanted to make them think about their own life, about their relationships and about their choices. To offer them solutions to relationship dilemmas and to show them that it’s never too late to turn things around. And I managed to do that, as it seems, because a friend of mine, a psychologist who works with women and couples, uses my book as a therapy book, which is absolutely wonderful.

Illustrations are a very important part of my book. I’ve known Nela, my illustrator, for many years and she can really feel me and my work. I don’t have to tell her what to do, she has understood me and the spirit of my books perfectly from the very beginning. Her illustrations are edgy, unconventional, funny and very feminine, just like Tales for Delicious Girls. Very few adult books, if any, are fully illustrated, and without them, Tales for Delicious Girls wouldn’t be the same.

I have written this book for women. For women who are smart, independent, fun-loving and fearless. And also for women that are struggling and trying to find themselves and the right life path. For women who are young and still have many things to experience. And for women who have already had their share of life experience. It is simply a book for all women out there. And therefore I hope it makes women happy, I hope it brings something special into their life. I hope it amuses them and I also hope it helps them with their issues and insecurities, should they have any. The message of the book is very strong and if women identify with the stories I tell, the message will be delivered, which is the most important thing for me and the reason I wrote Tales for Delicious Girls.

Barbora Knobova is a writer, love coach and expert in Delicious Life. A world traveler, she is one of those rare world citizens who live everywhere and nowhere. Barbora is a firm believer in female friendship, loyalty and bonding. She writes hilarious, sharp-witted, caustically apt, ironic, moving, true books for strong, independent, smart, fearless women. Barbora has also written several self-improvement books and teaches women about the importance of self-love in relationships and life in general. Barbora speaks eight languages and has found her home away from home in New York, London and Milan. She is always on the move, accompanied by her beagle Brinkley, the nasty dog from her new book Tales for Delicious Girls. You can visit her website at http://www.barboraknobova.com.

Leave a Reply

