Lessons Learned: Loving Yourself as a Black Woman – Author Tinisha Nicole Johnson


Click Here to Buy This Book

Author Tinisha Nicole Johnson visits The Story Behind the Book during her book tour with Pump Up Your Book. Lessons Learned is a non-fiction, self-help book that addresses ten life lessons that touches on a woman’s most intimate and professional life. The book explains why and how to find inner happiness and why self-love is a necessity in a woman’s life. The book talks about other areas of a woman’s life in depth as well. Although the book is catered towards women of color, mostly any woman would benefit from reading Lessons Learned

Where did you get your inspiration for your book?

It was 2003. I was in my early twenties and a single mother, and life just wasn’t good at the time. I was very depressed, and I hid it from everyone, or at least I tried to. I was suicidal and thinking back, it was scary, because I might not be here if it weren’t for one homeless woman. I was a private type of person, and I didn’t want anyone to know what I was going through. I figured people had their own problems. Why would they want to know mine?

I remember sitting on my bed on a hot summer day with a big bottle of pills by my side. It was daylight, and no one was home. My son was away at daycare. I’d arranged for my mom to pick him up later that day. I was starring out the window at a homeless woman digging through a dumpster. I’m sure everyone has experienced a homeless person digging in the trash, but this time, there was something different about this woman. When she looked up, it was almost like looking in a mirror. Everything became very quiet. I call this moment my epiphany. She looked so pitiful, and within seconds, I realized my life had the same meaning. It was so strange. My focus totally changed within an instant. I realized how selfish it was of me to be feeling this way. I had a lot to be grateful for, even it was just for my job, my health, and a roof over my head at the time. In a moment’s time, all I could think about was how to get out of this pain I’d allow myself to feel for so long.

Over the next several weeks, I started reading and listening to every self-help, motivational, or inspirational book, CD, DVD, cassette tape I could get my hands on. It’s amazing what an impact words in a book can have on your life.

Later in 2003, Lessons Learned: Loving Yourself as a Black Woman was created. It started off as a journal, which I originally started in 1998. I needed to get my feelings out on paper, so that’s why I started writing a journal. My life was like a rollercoaster between 1998-2003. I had a baby, married, and divorced, left an abusive relationship, found myself homeless for a short period of time, and found myself as a single mother, supporting myself and my son who looked exactly like the man who I despised. Although the book is not a memoir, it does touch on some of the issues and emotions I had during that period. I also learned a lot from other women, and realized some of my own concerns, hurt, and frustrations were theirs as well. It really does help sometimes to know that you aren’t alone, because in the mist of problems you can feel very alone.

Lessons Learned addresses ten life lessons that touches on a woman’s most intimate and professional life. It’s about finding real happiness and why self-love is so important. Although, Lessons Learned is catered towards women of color, mostly any woman can take away powerful tips, suggestions, and messages that will inspire and uplift them.

Visit Tinisha

Visit Tinisha’s book video

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learned: Loving Yourself as a Black Woman – Author Tinisha Nicole Johnson

  1. I want to thank the blog host for this posting. This book definitely took a lot of courage for me to get the word out. Thank you for visiting and reading a short history about the book.

  2. You mentioned in a tv interview that this went from being an journal to a self-help book. Thank you for your wonderful insight in writing a self motivational book to encourage woman in their daily lives.

Leave a Reply

