The Story Behind Lingering Spirits by Marilyn Meredith


Though often something that has happened in real life has been the seed for one of my books, Lingering Spirit is based on a tragedy that happened in our family about twenty years ago. 

My son-in-law was killed in the line of duty in his job as a deputy sheriff, leaving my daughter a widow with three young sons. I loved my son-in-law like he was one of my own boys and I believe writing this story was a way for me to deal with my grief. 

Readers need to understand that Lingering Spirit is fiction. Though it blossomed from fact, it is not my daughter’s story. There are definitely some similarities, especially in the beginning, but the fictional heroine and her family are nothing like my daughter, or any of us. What happened to my daughter and her family as time went on has no resemblance to what I’ve written in this tale. 

Anyone who reads Lingering Spirit will probably want to know if there is any truth to the ghostly visitations. The answer is yes, and if you ever see me in person, ask and I’ll tell you what really happened. 

Lingering Spirit had a former life as an e-book with another publishing company. When the Kindle came out, my publisher at Oak Tree Press asked me if I had any old books that I’d like to make available for Kindle. I sent her Lingering Spirit and she fell in love with the story. This year she asked me if she could put it out in trade paperback. Of course I said yes. She always tells everyone to have a box of tissue handy when they read Lingering Spirit—but be reassured, you’ll have plenty to smile about too. 

For me, this is an exciting experience, to have this book that I put so much of my heart and soul into to be available for readers. I hope everyone likes it as well as my publisher.

Marilyn Meredith is the author of nearly thirty published novels, including the award winning Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery series, the latest Dispel the Mist from Mundania Press. Under the name of F. M. Meredith she writes the Rocky Bluff P.D. crime series, An Axe to Grind is the latest from Oak Tree Press. 

She is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, including the Internet chapter, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. Visit her at http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilymeredith.blogspot.com

4 thoughts on “The Story Behind Lingering Spirits by Marilyn Meredith

  1. You’re not a day behind. It got posted a bit early. No worries, you’re right where you should be.

    A reminder to readers that Marilyn is running a contest during her virtual book tour, which lasts through the 30th. The person who comments on the most blog stops during her tour will have a character named after her/him in the next Rocky Bluf P.D. book due out in 2012.

    You can also view a trailer for this book at https://thestorybehindthebook.wordpress.com/

    Thanks.

    Cheryl

  2. As a fellow author with “paranormal” experience, I just want to wish you the best of continued success with your works! I am so glad to see people embracing these natural parts of our soul’s existence!
    Caroline A. Shearer
    Adventures of a Lightworker: Dead End Date

Leave a Reply

