The Story Behind ‘Through the Fire’ by Harriet Cammock


I was inspired to record my story based on my experiences in surviving domestic violence. Due to the violence in my home I suffered extensive damage stemming from the emotional, physical and mental abuse I endured. My story began innocently as I was looking for love and married someone who, unknown to me, had a pattern of damaging and controlling the women in his life. In the latter part of my marriage the physical abuse began to eat away at the last vestiges of my self-esteem. During these moments I determined to write my story so that I could help as many women as I could by providing uplifting messages; messages that said that they too can overcome the damaging effects of domestic violence.

In the last ten years since my release from that abusive marriage, I have published two books, hosted two radio shows, and traveled to various cities in an effort to promote my book. I have made guest appearances on TV and radio shows, and, through my daily blog (and my posts on Twitter and Facebook), I continue to inspire women around the world to be the best they can be. I serve as a volunteer in a community project designed to enhance the lives of survivors of domestic violence. Through these initiatives I look for opportunities to speak into women’s lives to provide encouragement to inspire them to remove themselves from abusive situations.

I believe violence against women and children must end. It takes each one to reach one and I look for your support in helping other women to achieve this. Based on my experiences, I have learned that it really doesn’t matter how you start; what matters is how you finish.

***

Harriet CammockIt doesn’t matter how you start, it matters how you finish. This can be said of Harriet Cammock’s life. Born in Montego Bay, Jamaica, Harriet’s journey is one marked by a strong faith in the belief that you can overcome, if you try hard enough.

Through childhood, her grandmother instilled in her a drive to succeed. After an abusive marriage, Harriet determined she would use her own experiences in overcoming abuse to teach other women that there is help available. She channeled those experiences in writing and through her blog, The Grace Chronicles, she provides inspirational and uplifting messages to many people.

Harriet began The Faith Hour in 2009 and used this platform to launch The Renewed By Grace Conference, which was designed to bring together men and women whose lives were touched by abuse. “I want to show women that you don’t have to look like what you went through,” Harriet said. Using creative resources and with involvement from other community organizations, Harriet plans to host another conference sometime in the next several months.

A published author, she now hosts The Harriet Cammock Show. The Harriet Cammock Show uses principles of surviving and overcoming; principles that Harriet learned first-hand. Harriet has appeared on The Word Network and Atlanta Live! and is a guest writer for The Hinterland Gazette. A gifted speaker, Harriet is available for speaking engagements.

Visit http://www.harrietcammock.org for more about Harriet Cammock’s projects.

Find Through the Fire at Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble

One thought on “The Story Behind ‘Through the Fire’ by Harriet Cammock

  1. Ms. Cammock, you are an inspiration to many. Congratulations on your book, Through The Fire. Thank you for sharing your story with the public – it is a courageous and selfless act.

Leave a Reply

