The Story Behind The Hands of Tarot by SM Blooding


The Story Behind The Hands of Tarot

By SM Blooding

I talk to myself a lot. There’s a reason I name all my walls. Sometimes, I talk to them, too. So one day, I was talking to myself and I said, “Self, you need to write something wildly different.”

I thought about that, and thought and thought. Then my brain said, “Yo, Frankie (that’s what I call myself when I’m not calling myself ‘self’), what are going to do with this solar system that’s been growing inside your head for the last decade? Are you going to do anything with it? Like, ever?”

After sitting down with my daughters, Miss Think and Miss Sunshine, I determined that I was going to write an adventure. *cue hero music* It was going to be epic. There was going to be fantastical discoveries, and Nikola Tesla was going to be the heroic inventor that he always should been. I was excited! This was going to be the best book EVER!

Now, that’s all great, grand and glorious, but it’s nowhere near a plot, a character arc, or a setting. Not only that, but Warehouse 13 was thinking the exact same thing and made Tesla, not only a hero, but a vampire. I just can’t compete with a vampiric genius hero. I had to find something else.

Miss Sunshine threw a few ideas at me, and proclaimed me beyond saving with a, “Geez, Mom, you’re just not very creative, are you?”

Hey, now! I’m a writer! I can’t write fiction and lack imagination. I shoved all the thoughts into my brainpan to let them stew for a year.

In the meantime, I was busy working on several other books. However, this one was always churning in the background. I made a solar system, hung it from my ceiling and watched it turn for long…well, minutes because I really can’t sit and do nothing for hours. I slowly built this world in my mind. I watched how the moon I chose to inhabit coexisted with its solar system, and imagined the seasons. That defined the history and the people.

Then, I bought a tarot deck. OMW! (That’s Oh My Word) It’s just so pretty! The Legacy Tarot deck. If you ever get a chance, look it up. It’s gorgeous. I didn’t need the deck. I actually got it because a character in another book was gifted it by her instructor (Paige in the Demon Talker Novels), and I thought it would be handy. Paige and I never really used it in the books. She uses it off camera, but the reader never sees that. That’s fine.

But as I was looking through the cards, getting familiar with the deck, my brain just started EXPLODING with ideas! I saw people. All of a sudden, there was a plot! I’d been working on this setting for so long, wondering if I was ever going to have a book to go with it, and BOOM! There it was with the Queen of Wands, The Devil, 3 of Wands, 10 of Swords and the Knight of Cups.

I did a couple of tarot readings with the deck for a little plotting assistance. I was just playing around. It worked out rather well.

This was my NaNoWriMo book for 2011. I had already signed The Demon Talker Novels with TLT Publishing. We were supposed to launch Demons Are Jackasses sometime in 2012. And I said, “Self, why can’t you self-publish? You write pretty decently, you know, for a girl, and, uh, you’ve got a few books. Why not? What’s the worst thing that could happen?”

Well, let me think about that. Uh, well, hmm, I’m pretty sure that people could laugh at me. Yeah, no, I’m pretty positive they will laugh at me.

“You are kinda funny.”

You’re not. Really.

“So you think that’s the worst thing that could happen to you?”

I’m thinkin’ about it. Uh, yeah. Yeah, I think so.

“So, you’re not going to lose your apartment or your car or stave your bird? The world’s not going to end on your account?”

Well, the world is scheduled to end in 2012.

“You seriously think it’s going to end because of you?”

Uh, no. Probably not. Mine might, but the world? No.

“Then what ARE YOU WORRYING ABOUT?! Get off your butt and DO IT!”

Fine, you big…BULLY!

And that’s the conversation that took place to get me from, “Hey, look at me. I wrote a book,” to “Hey! Look at me. I published a book! With my own money! I paid my editors! And that cover came out of my peanut butter sandwich fund!”

I hope you enjoyed the birth of The Hands of Tarot! Have a super day and thank you for stopping by!

About the Author:

SM Blooding lives in Colorado with her pet rock, Rockie, and Ms. Jack, who’s a real bird. She’s still learning to play the piano and guitar, which is going marginally better, and for those of you looking for an Arabic update, she has successfully learned one word, “Yalla, people yalla!”

She’s dated vampires, werewolves, sorcerers, weapons smugglers and US Government assassins. Yes. She has stories.

Her latest book is the YA steampunk, The Hands of Tarot.

Visit SM Blooding on the web at  www.smblooding.com.

Stop by SM Blooding’s blog at http://www.smblooding.com/blog/.

Follow SM Blooding on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/SMBlooding

“Like” SM Blooding on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/smblooding

Check out SM Blooding at Google+:  https://plus.google.com/u/0/101760130723468098926/posts

Follow SM Blooding at Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5234671.S_M_Blooding

Friend SM Blooding at LinkedIn:  http://www.linkedin.com/profile/edit?locale=en_US&goback=%2Enpe_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1&report%2Esuccess=jgJxTlkGP726Ky-c5KwR61IrRQHo7WkbEMb_CbEDa703MvofkxsDCc06MMP3wv3vgcoytKSrRn0L_rsfDgJjp8-

Don’t forget to check out Colorado Paranormal Rescue: http://www.coloradoparanormalrescue.com/?q=content/about-us

One thought on “The Story Behind The Hands of Tarot by SM Blooding

Leave a Reply

