The Story Behind Winter’s Magic by Cynthia Gail


Everyone I know was surprised that I’d written a book. English was a subject I never liked growing up. I was always a math and science girl, I’ve never considered myself creative, and my day job is a retail analyst. That’s miles away from being a romance writer.

But I love to read. A Lot.

Three years ago, my husband was working the early morning shift and always went to bed by eight o’clock. I would stay up reading or watching TV. Then one morning I woke up with a storyline in my head. I was intrigued, but didn’t give it much thought. Then I woke up a second morning with the same storyline—this time it was longer.

Eventually, the story grew, just in my head, to be a full chapter. So I decided to write it down.

Instead of reading or watching TV, I started staying up late to write. Sometimes until midnight or later. I had no idea what I was doing, but the ideas kept flowing and I kept writing. I couldn’t wait to see where it would lead. And the further I got into the story, the more I wanted to know the ending.

A full year later, I told my secret to my best friend, Angie, who encouraged me to do something with the two and a half manuscripts I’d finished. Within a week, she introduced me to Trish Milburn, an award-winning author she’d grown up with in Kentucky. Trish just happens to live in Nashville, now, less than ten minutes away from me.

Trish was a godsend. I hired her to edit one of my manuscripts, then she introduced me to RWA and the local chapter. Most of all, she encouraged me and gave me a list of books to read about how to write. The important stuff about goals, motivation, and conflict that all good manuscripts include. I started taking on-line classes and going to workshops on emotional intensity, show vs. tell, and dialogue.

In the spring of 2011, I started entering contests and took every ounce of feedback from the judges to improve my manuscript. By fall, I’d finaled in the Heart of Denver’s Molly contest and decided it was time to query publishers.

I write category length, contemporary romance, which limited the publishers that fit my style. But one of my critique partners landed a contract with Soul Mate Publishing and recommended that I send them a query. On November 12, 2011, Debby offered me a contract.

It’s been a long year, waiting for Winter’s Magic to be released. Yet it’s given me time to work on the rest of the Music City Heart’s series. Spring’s Surprise is under contract for early 2013, Summer’s Family Affair is almost ready to submit to my editor, and I’ve just finished the outline for Fall’s Redeeming Grace.

________________________________

My husband and I live in the suburbs of Nashville, Tennessee with our teenage son and three dogs. Life is busy, but when I have free time, I love to read. A math/science girl at heart and a retail analyst by trade, I never thought I’d be writing romance. But one day, a story popped into my head and I had to write it down. The fantasy, escape, and wonder of just reading multiplied by ten-fold and I couldn’t stop my fingers from typing my own fairy tales.

I hope you enjoy my stories. Each one touches on modern day issues, fears, and challenges that women face every day. And each one illustrates that love is within reach if you let down those walls and allow your heart to open. Our lives and experiences are so much more meaningful when we have someone to share them with.

Cynthia’s latest book is the contemporary romance, Winter’s Magic (Book 1 in the Music City Hearts series).

Visit her website at www.Cynthiagail.com.

One thought on “The Story Behind Winter’s Magic by Cynthia Gail

  1. I’m jealous — I want stories to pop into my head overnight. :-) Seriously, thank goodness you put pen to paper. So many people just see something like that as an interesting fluke and don’t do anything with it. I applaud your persistance. Good luck with Winter’s Magic — love the title! I was just talking to a girlfriend today about how we love to take time just for ourselves over the holidays and read Christmas stories.

Leave a Reply

