The Story Behind The Stolen Herd by K. Madill


In a boring law office surrounded by paper on a cold, January day, I looked up and saw him. There, as bright as the sun that flooded the window beside me, stood a black horse with glowing eyes.  He had a worrisome expression as he pawed the ground and nickered as if to say “listen up; I have something to tell you.”Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00068]

I couldn’t get that troubled horse out of my mind and as I journeyed home that evening, my thoughts were ablaze with plot lines and supporting characters for his tale. I rushed to my desk and began drafting what became The Stolen Herd and part of the following book.    As the story began to take shape, I soon realized that writing it was going to consume every aspect of my life. I was not mistaken.

Am I crazy? Quite possibly, but it was that vision that led me down an agonizing six year path of befuddled planning, rough drafts, relentless re-writes and painstaking editing to here- this post.  It’s been a lengthy journey and I still have a long way to go.

I hope you, dear Reader, will come along for the ride.

Purchase at http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00GBQ9V8O

Karai Madill

K. Madill spends a lot of time making up stories, avoiding eye contact with people and wishing that animals could speak human languages.

She lives on a well treed street in British Columbia, with her partner, surrounded by creatures, gardens, and good vibes.  The Stolen Herd is her first novel. 

To purchase a copy of The Stolen Herd, please visit:  http://www.amazon.ca/Stolen-Herd-Mandamus-Luco-Book-ebook/dp/B00GBQ9V8O 

To visit K. Madill’s blog see:  http://kmadill.com/ 

If you’d rather check her out on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/K-Madill/161159890706088 

2 thoughts on “The Story Behind The Stolen Herd by K. Madill

  1. Thank you so much for agreeing to host ‘The Stolen Herd’. This was one of the most interesting posts I had to do… and the one that gave me the most trouble. There were several reasons behind the book but I found my explainations became so convoluted that I decided to share just the spark that brought the story to life. This is a great blog and I am truly honored to be featured on it!

  2. Pingback: Onwards We Go… To Day 6! | K. Madill

Leave a Reply

