The Story Behind Book of Dreams by Sylvie Michaud


The idea for the book came to me, seemingly, out of the blue about the time my son was six years old. But like most events in life that seem random, since I wasn’t actively thinking about writing a children’s book, it was really an idea that had been percolating in the back of my mind for a long time. I knew I wanted to create some kind of product that helped parents and babies form a strong attachment to each other.

My desire to create the book was born from my own experience with raising my son, Luke. Before he was born my husband and I had very little experience with babies, so when our son came into this world shouting at the top of his lungs and refusing to be out of our arms, we were a bit panicked to put it mildly. Book of Dreams cover

My husband and I had already decided that Luke would sleep in our room in a small bed he had made, which we attached to my side of our bed. That didn’t seem close enough for Luke, so we brought him into our king-sized bed and the dog, which had often slept at the foot of the bed, had to go. This certainly helped with the crying, but he still didn’t sleep more than two hours at a time.

Being a writer, my natural instinct was to head to the library to find out what I should do. As I scoured the books, I got the overwhelming sense that I was “spoiling” Luke by allowing him into our bed and that I was “not in control”, since I was allowing him to dictate our schedule. I thought maybe I was the problem, so when Luke was about six months old, we set up a crib in another room and tried the “sleep therapy” suggestions we had read about in books. For two nights we put Luke in the crib and allowed him to cry for longer and longer periods. By the end of the two nights, both my husband and I were in tears and we absolutely knew that it was the wrong approach for us.

So I returned all the books except for the ones that felt right. Those were the ones about attachment parenting. Luke is now an amazing 11-year-old boy who is empathetic, kind, active, and social. He looks to his parents, not his peers, for support and guidance. He is not spoiled, dependent, or a “mama’s boy” like the books warned.

The experience made me wonder how many other parents had listened to advice that didn’t feel right and instead of listening to their own instincts.

About the book:

Book of Dreams sees Baby Raccoon’s parents use clouds to share their dreams of a better future. In the story, Mama and Papa use clouds to share their dreams about a healthy planet and vibrant future for Baby Ringtail. In the book, Baby Ringtail asks Mama and Papa, “Why is every cloud a different shape?” “Clouds are pictures in the sky that help us dream,” Mama Ringtail replies.

Purchase at:

Amazon soft cover: http://www.amazon.com/Book-Dreams-The-Ringtail-Family/dp/0978295587

Amazon digital: http://www.amazon.com/Book-Dreams-The-Ringtail-Family-ebook/dp/B00BTPBX0Q

B&N soft cover: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/book-of-dreams-the-ringtail-family-sylvie-michaud/1110202903

About the author:

Sylvie Michaud is a North Vancouver, BC based writer and graphic designer. After years as a writer, editor and designer for The Canadian Red Cross Society newsletter, “The Responder”, Sylvie has gone on to write for several other groups & magazines including Pacific Yachting, GardenWise and the North Shore’s own Lynn Valley Literary anthology, “Wintertide.” 

In 2011, Sylvie won the Lynn Valley Literary Society’s short story contest for “Fire and Fortune.” 

In addition to her literary background, Sylvie is the ower of Blackbarn Crafts where she designs, produces and sells handmade crafts for crafts shows and other online venues. 

Learn more about Sylvie Michaud and the Ringtail Family collection at www.craftycanuck.com and http://shop.craftycanuck.com/ 

Leave a Reply

