THE STORY BEHIND A PIRATE, A BLOCKADE RUNNER, AND A CAT, by Beverly McClure


pirate-blockade-runner-cat-333x500Most authors write about subjects that interest them. Since lighthouses fascinate me and I enjoy history, especially the Civil War Era, as well as the legendary pirates, not to mention I’m a cat lady, it’s logical I would at some point write a story about my likes. I didn’t plan for them all to be in the same book; it just happened.

One summer, on a visit to our son and daughter-in-law in Charleston, SC, we went to Folly Beach to watch the sunrise over the lighthouse. It was beautiful, but what intrigued me the most was the lighthouse, standing in the harbor, dark and lonely looking. My little writer brain went to work. A lighthouse, especially one that dated from the Civil War Days and had not worked since that time, must have a ghost, right? But who was this ghost? Why was he a ghost? Oh, and he had a cat too. Perfect.

Then, this pirate popped into my head. Even though the pirates lived a century earlier than my lighthouse ghost did, since they were ghosts, they were timeless. Rather than have a fictional ghost like my teenage blockade runner (yes, he told me that’s what he was), I decided to use famous ghosts that kids would probably know. So Stede Bonnet became my pirate ghost. I had to give him a reason for not being able to pass to the other side, so I brought Blackbeard into the picture to be Bonnet’s antagonist.

Since I was writing for young teens, I needed live people in the story too, and I remembered a thought I had one time where this boy told me “It’s funny how a split second can change a guy’s life.” I had the first line of my story and the boy who said it. He needed friends, and the twins introduced themselves to me. And A PIRATE, A BLOCKADE RUNNER AND A CAT was born.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title:   A Pirate, a Blockade Runner, and a Cat

Genre:   Paranormal

Author:  Beverly Stowe McClure

Website: http://beverlystowemcclure.wordpress.com

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

Purchase on Amazon

Thirteen-year-old Erik Burks’ life is falling apart. When he discovers a lace bra in the glove compartment of his dad’s car, his mom leaves his father and drags Erik from being king of the hill in Texas to the bottom of the pits in South Carolina. No Dad, no baseball, no friends, just Starry Knight (a girl who reads minds) and her equally weird brother, Stormy, the twins that live down the block.

Just when Erik thinks life can’t get any worse, while hanging out at the beach one evening, he and the twins notice lights radiating from the lighthouse. Stranger still, a ship materializes in the moonlit harbor. Curious, the twins and a reluctant Erik investigate and discover the ghost of a blockade runner, a cat, and a pirate who prowls Charleston Harbor, and the fun begins.

Bev_medium

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

When Beverly Stowe McClure was in eighth grade, her teacher sent her poem “Stars” to the National High School Poetry Association, and she was soon a published writer in Young America Sings, an anthology of Texas high school poetry. Today, Beverly is a cum laude graduate of Midwestern State University with a BSEd degree. For twenty-two years, she taught children to read and write. They taught her patience. She is affectionately known as the “Bug Lady” because she rescues butterflies, moths, walking sticks, and praying mantis from her cats.

Most of the time, you’ll find Beverly in front of her computer, writing the stories little voices in her head tell her. When she’s not writing, she takes long walks and snaps photos of clouds, wild flowers, birds and deer. She also enjoys visiting with her family and teaching a women’s Sunday school class at her church. Her articles have been published in leading children’s magazines. Two of her stories are in CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL ANTHOLOGIES, and she has nine novels published, two of them award winning novels at Children’s Literary Classics and other competitions.

http://beverlystowemcclure.wordpress.com

http://beverlystowemcclure.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/beverlysmcclure

https://twitter.com/beverlymcclure

Leave a Reply

