The Story behind ‘Not All Americans Are Racist,’ by Nicole Weaver


american (4)I was inspired to write Not All Americans Are Racist because of the killings of unarmed young black males. I believe certain part of America still has a fervent love affair with racism.  It is mind boggling that some people think the killings were justified, and Eric Garner and Trayvon Martin deserved to be killed. This sends a very bad message.  Now, granted I also believe black fathers need to do a better job raising their sons, but this does not excuse nor validate the  killings that took place.

I am an optimist and always thinking of ways to find solutions to problems. This is another reason why I wrote Not All Americans Are Racist. Many good white people are not racist. In my book, I talk about the non-racist people that helped me in becoming the person I am today.  One must never concentrate only on the bad.

Lastly, I wrote the book to appeal to America’s youth. I am so lucky in that I see how young people of all races are changing the landscape of racism in America. I observe every day how well students from diverse backgrounds are treating each other.  I teach French and Spanish at Denver South High School. The high school is comparable to a mini United Nations because of the diverse student body. These students get along well. They inspire me and they are the reasons I have so much hope that the young people will help eradicate the racial divide that still exist in the United States.

About the book:

In Not All Americans Are Racist, Nicole Weaver recounts her experiences with racial discrimination and the non-racist white individuals who made it possible for her to attend and finish college. As an immigrant from Port-au-Prince, Haiti, she is thankful for the opportunities America has offered her.

Find out more on Amazon.

About the author:

nicole

Nicole weaver is an award-winning author. Her first trilingual book Marie and Her Friend the Sea Turtle was published in 2009. Her love for languages and other cultures resulted in publishing the award-winning book, My Sister Is My Best Friend which was published in 2011 by Guardian Angel Publishing and has won numerous awards.

My Brother Is My Best Friend, published by Guardian Angel Publishing, January 2014, earned the 2014 Children’s Literary Classics Seal of Approval, and the 2014 Children’s Literary Classics Gold Award. The book also earned a bronze medal in 2014 Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards.

Website / Blog / Facebook / Twitter

One thought on “The Story behind ‘Not All Americans Are Racist,’ by Nicole Weaver

Leave a Reply

