The Story Behind Tell Me a Story by Tamara Lush


I’m a journalist in my day job and many of my ideas are sparked from news stories. My first book, Hot Shade, was about two reporters who met during a plane crash and fell in love. My second book, Into the Heat, was about an Afghanistan war veteran who suffered from PTSD and rekindled a relationship with his first love.

Tell Me a StoryMy third book, the novella called Tell Me a Story, has nothing to do with current events. It’s inspired by an actual literary event in my city called Story Brothel, where people pay writers to listen to them read aloud. My friend started this event, and asked me to participate. I was so intrigued by the concept and my imagination went into overdrive.

Who would show up? What if an erotica writer read her work? Would she be embarrassed, or would she be turned on? What if the person paying her to read was a well-dressed and sexy older man? The possibilities for teasing and flirting were endless, I thought.

In reality, I ended up doing Story Brothel in my city. Two people asked me to read for them, I made $15 and it wasn’t sexy at all (which is okay, as I’m married). It was great fun, though, and a really different way to connect with readers!

I wrote Tell Me a Story in a month, and fell in love with the main characters, Emma and Caleb. I’m turning their relationship into a four-book novella series.

The story is told entirely from Emma’s point of view. For this reason, the tone is very conversational. I joke with my critique partner that I’m really writing erotic chick lit. It’s been an incredibly fun and satisfying story to write, and I just finished the second episode in the series. Things are about to get even more serious for Emma and Caleb in episode three. Tell Me a Story is available now, but the rest of the novellas will be released in quick succession over the summer. I hope readers enjoy the story!

About the Author

Tamara LushDuring the day, Tamara Lush writes news as a journalist with The Associated Press. At night, she writes fictional romance tales about complicated, sexy men and the women who love them.

When Tamara isn’t reporting, writing or reading, she’s doing yoga, cooking for her Italian husband or chasing her dogs on a beach on Florida’s Gulf Coast. She loves connecting with people on social media.

Her latest book is the erotic romance, Tell Me a Story (Book 1 The Story Series).

For More Information

Leave a Reply

