The Story Behind Davin Whitehurst’s ‘I Have Faith’


“I have Faith” came from my childhood. I am not sure exactly how old I was but I was around seven or eight. It was early in the month of December and I remember praying for a dog. I thought God was going to answer my prayer for Christmas. I never got my dog for Christmas, but months down the road I did get my dog. My dad was driving home from work and was looking at a brown paper bag rolling around in the road. As he got closer he realized it was not trash blowing around but a small puppy. She I Have Faithwas too young to be weaned from her mother, and must have been dumped on the side of the road. That afternoon as I was walking home from school; my sister was waiting for me on the front porch with this puppy who we called Hope.

A couple years back I was reminded of this event that took place in my life and knew I was supposed to turn it into a children’s book about faith. I see how so many times we always want the instant and have the right now mentality. That’s not how faith works, for the most part. My son is sixteen now so I do not have little children, but when I look at all the children at my church; I get inspired and love to see their faith develop. Faith is a key element in the Christian walk and is why I published ‘I Have Faith” first. When we can teach children, in the early childhood development stages, about faith; they begin to take hold of it and make it their own. To see a child plant a small seed of faith and watch it manifest is amazing. When they realize that faith takes patience and perseverance, giving up or losing hope is never an option for them. They know what faith is and how it works. Their faith takes hold and their trust in God gets stronger.

With “I Have Faith” I tried to go through traditional publishing but pulled away from that very quickly. I also looked at vanity or subsidy publishers but never felt a peace about it all. That is why I started Childlike Faith Publishing, and God has begun to open doors for the company to get the book out to the world. So right now my book is self published and the journey has been awesome. I would not change it for the world.

About the Author

Davin WhitehurstDavin Whitehurst lives in the beautiful high desert of Southern Arizona with his wife and son. He is releasing his first book “I have Faith” in May of 2016 but has so many more that are in the making. The motivation behind the books are deeply rooted from in his own past. He is a living testimony of Proverbs 22:6. Growing up in Southwest Kansas and in a Christian household, he was trained up in the way he should go. By the time he became a teenager, Davin turned away from God and left church. Fast forward into his late twenties and God brought him back with a powerful calling. He and his family have been faithfully serving at Seed of Abraham Christian Center International for over seven years now. Proof that when we teach our children the way they should go. When they get older, they know where to turn and will not depart from God. Davin wants each book written to be a resource that parents have to help train their children in the way they should go. He writes stories in a simple way that will be fun and practical for every child. He wants children to get excited about faith and the things of God.

His latest release is the children’s book, I Have Faith.

 

Leave a Reply

