The Story Behind Fairly Certain by Deborah Ann Davis


When a nasty bout of Lyme disease has you laid out on the couch, what would do you do to keep yourself occupied? I was in too much pain to sleep, and too exhausted from lack of sleep to focus on TV. Instead, I listened to music. Songs lasted 3 to 5 minutes…which coincided with the length of my attention span. With my mind drifting around the songs, threads of storylines Fairly Certainbegan to weave together. As I got better, I began to write them down.

My first story was called Love of Fairs. I was about halfway through it when I recovered from the Lyme disease, and returned to work. I loved teaching, and missed being around the students. But, I had been bitten by the writing bug, and from that point on, I spent my summers writing.

The following summer, I attended my first Renaissance Faire. I found myself immersed in a world where an entire population pranced, danced and marched to a different drummer. What did I do? I stood in the middle of the concourse and watch them, with a brand-new storyline doing flips and cartwheels in my brain. My first story was unceremoniously dumped onto the back burner, and I began writing Fairly Certain.

While I wrote, I took workshops on the craft of writing, character development, plotting and pacing, etc. I joined writing groups and learned from my peers. I finally shared my manuscript with my 20-year-old daughter.

“Mom, there’s no sex in this.”

“Yeah, well, I don’t really feel comfortable writing it.” What I really didn’t feel comfortable about was the idea of one of my sophomore students reading it if I wrote it.

“No problem, Mom. I’ll write the sex scenes for you.”

Umm, what? See sex through my daughter’s eyes? Ewww! “Uh, no thanks, honey. I like my book the way it is. But I appreciate you offering.”

As I continued to hone my writing skills, I investigated publishing and decided independent publishing was the best fit for me. I hired an editor, a book cover designer, a formatter, and a website designer. When I finally held my book in my hand, I was so excited I couldn’t sit still. The book felt so wonderful in my hands. I tenderly opened the cover and…found a mistake.

I’ve been re-editing my work ever since. Every time I read it, I find another little something I can change to make it sound better. I don’t seem to be able to stop. Nothing is sacred. I even have a new cover design. I’ve asked several authors about the curse of The Never Ending Edit, and apparently we are all afflicted. I decided not to worry about it since I was in such good company.

I hope you enjoy the new and improved Fairly Certain, a quirky tale with a twist at the end. And don’t worry about my abandoned first story. Fairly Safe will be making its grand entrance onto the literary scene this summer, the second tale in my Love of Fairs series. You are invited to read excerpts from both books at DeborahAnnDavis.com/books/.

About the Author

Deborah Ann DavisDEBORAH ANN DAVIS has been writing since she was assigned to keep a Journal in her 5th grade English class. She began to look around for writing inspiration. Lo and behold, she found her world was full of funny stories just waiting to be told. As she grew older, occasionally she could manipulate one into some school assignment, but it never occurred to her to pursue writing, not even when she discovered her flare for telling stories at college parties.

After a string of college majors, she realized she could have a captive audience EVERY DAY in the public school system. As it turns out, teenagers love to laugh, and what could be more entertaining than Biology, Earth Science, and Environmental Science? Then there’s the added bonus that once kids know you like to laugh, they want to make you laugh.

Go figure.

In addition to Writing, she is also an Educational Speaker and a Certified Personal Trainer. She taught for 25+ years, although somewhere in the middle of all that educating, she stepped out of teaching for 6 years to do the Mommy Thing, and run the office for their family construction company.

Even though they had followed separate paths, Deborah reunited with, and married her childhood sweetheart, twelve years after their first kiss.  Together they coached their daughter’s AAU Basketball Team, which swept States two years in a row. (Yay!) Then, for several years their daughter and their money went to college.

They currently reside on a lovely lake in Connecticut. She enjoys dabbling with living a sustainable life, writing novels for her Love of Fairs series, dancing, playing outside, and laughing really hard every day. She promotes increasing the amount of movement throughout your day via Wiggle Writer posts on Merry Meddling.

Remember, you can do anything if you set your mind to it— including becoming an author at any age— but it’s way more fun if you are grinning back when the Universe smiles down on you.

Deborah’s latest book is the new adult novel, Fairly Certain.

For More Information

 

Leave a Reply

