The Story Behind Touching Death by Becky Johnson


As with most of my stories the idea for Touching Death came to me in the middle of normal life. A few years ago I was at the Philadelphia Museum of Art with one of my best friends. After doing the Rocky run up the front stairs (which is absolutely necessary if you live in the Philadelphia area) and strolling through the impressionists we were in the Arms and Armory room, which is one of my favorite areas.

Touching DeathWhile we strolled through the room I started thinking about all of the artifacts in room and all of the people that had touched or lived with those artifacts. Then I started thinking about being about to see those people or feel what those people felt. A few minutes later I was at a person who could touch things and see the past. Basically the first scene of the book came to me while I was standing in the Arms and Armory Room with my best friend.

It was a few years before the story was able to really come together. Mostly because I was too busy writing other things, but when it came together Rachel Angeletti was born, and her story has been trying to come out ever since!

Since Touching Death is my fourth book the publishing process was pretty straightforward. I self-publish through Amazon which has been great. The hardest part of publishing a book, for me, is what comes after the writing, editing, publishing. Marketing. Marketing is definitely not my strong suit. Most of what I have learned about Marketing has been learned the hard way! Every book I write and publish I learn a little more.

I recently had an opportunity to attend a writer’s conference. It was a great experience. I learned so much from the speakers and the other authors. I also was struck by more inspiration and I have three new story ideas!

About the Author

 Becky JohnsonBooks are Becky Johnson’s passion and always have been. She used to get in trouble in school for reading during class!

Becky has Master’s degrees in social work and history, and for her day job she is a social worker. In her writing she tries to answer a question that is important to both social work and history: Why? She always wants to know why people do the things they do or feel the way they feel.

When not reading or writing she enjoys yoga, photography, cooking, and makes a pretty mean chili!

Her latest book is the mystery/suspense, Touching Death.

For More Information

Leave a Reply

