The Story Behind Born To Resist by Ember Raine Winters


I have always loved reading and writing. I had written a few things, but I had always thought they weren’t good enough, or no one would want to read them. I read all of The Hunger Games books and absolutely loved them. I had heard of the Divergent series and decided to read them too.

born-to-resistAfter I finished reading The Divergent series I realized what all those random stories that I had written over the years of my life had been lacking. There was no real message. I wasn’t writing something I was passionate about. They all had an underlying problem that our society faced or could face in the near future and they came up with an alternate future in which things went terribly wrong.

I was watching the news one day and I saw that there were protests going on in my hometown. Illegal immigrants and their sympathizers were protesting stricter deportation laws that were about to be passed. I thought about it and was kind of bewildered that these people were holding up Mexican flags and protesting the government of a country that they broke laws to come to. My mind often works in mysterious ways and I had all kinds of thoughts of possible wars and what could happen to our country. It was really pretty surreal so I decided to write the story my brain came up with randomly.

I wrote Born To Resist about two years ago, well before the current election cycle. But, I noticed then there was a major problem with illegal immigration in our country. I live in California, so I probably see the problem more often then say, someone from Oklahoma. It was getting out of hand. There were whole cities that basically gave illegal immigrants citizenship and crime rates were going up, drugs were becoming more readily available on the streets and I thought about it. Tens of thousands of people cross our borders illegally every year. What would happen if the government waited to long to decide to protect our borders.

We could essentially go to war over something like that. What if illegal immigrants and the Mexican government decided to take over the US? Most of our troops are stationed overseas. They would have very little opposition with the number of illegal immigrants who cross the borders every year.

I thought then, what if all the troops overseas banded together to take back the country? But, the man in charge let the power go to his head and instead of doing what was expected of him, he decided to make the country a dictatorship. He had all the resources and power in his hands and no one was strong enough to stand up to his force.

I decided to write the story after the fact. I figured that the story of the next generation fighting the tyrant would be a lot better than the story of how it started. I have toyed with the idea of going back and writing the story of how it all came to pass in the first place, but I haven’t decided when or if that will happen. There is still more to tell of Alexa’s story. So, I will continue with it and see what happens before I decide to go back and tell her parents story.

About the Author

ember-raine-wintersEmber Raine Winters is a single mother of 2. Living in Bakersfield California. She has an Associate’s Degree in Political Science and Philosophy from the Local Junior College and she loves to read. Anything she can get her hands on, but mostly Science Fiction and Fantasy. She self-published her first book in March and hopes to publish many more in the future.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

