The Story Behind Death at First Sight by Lena Gregory


The inspiration for Death at First Sight came from an ongoing debate between my husband and me. I’ve had several brushes with the paranormal throughout my life, and I believe in ghosts. I also believe certain talented people are able to communicate death-at-first-sightwith them. My husband disagrees. While I do believe there are true mediums, I also accept that a lot of people who claim to be mediums are not. The idea intrigued me, and I started wondering what it would take to convince people you were actually able to communicate with spirits.

I came up with Cass Donovan, who owned a psychiatric practice in New York City before a series of unfortunate events sent her home to Bay Island, a small island between the north and south forks of Long Island, New York. Cass uses years of psychiatric training, as well as a naturally observant personality, to create accurate sounding readings and convince people she is communicating with their departed loved ones. She doesn’t do it to scam people but from a desire to offer comfort and ease their grief. Of course, I had to throw in the debate about whether or not ghosts exist, so her friends Bee and Stephanie often go at each other. Stephanie is an adamant believer in the supernatural, and Bee claims he doesn’t believe in hocus-pocus, yet he’ll bend over backwards to avoid anything even remotely otherworldly.

As the series progresses, though, a few incidents cause Cass to question her assessment of her abilities.

The setting of Bay Island is loosely based on my home town on Long Island. Of course, I set the first book in the series, Death at First Sight, during the fall, my favorite time of year. Coincidentally, I contracted the series in October, while I was on vacation in Disney World with my husband and kids. I was standing in the middle of The Magic Kingdom when my agent called. And the first book in the series is releasing in October, two years later. I’ve decided fall really is a magical time of year for me.

About the Author

lena-gregoryLena Gregory lives in a small town on the south shore of eastern Long Island with her husband and three children.

When she was growing up, she spent many lazy afternoons on the beach, in the yard, anywhere she could find to curl up with a good book. She loves reading as much now as she did then, but she now enjoys the added pleasure of creating her own stories.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

About the Book:

It doesn’t take a crystal ball to see that something’s not right on Bay Island…
 
Since she left her psychiatric practice in New York City to open up a psychic shop in her hometown on Bay Island, Cass Donovan has given her fair share of readings to conflicted customers. But what she sees in Ellie Callahan’s future doesn’t bode well.

When Ellie’s mother, Marge, publicly confronts Cass about the reading, the embarrassment makes her want to curl up and die. And when she later stumbles across Marge’s body—and is a suspect in her murder—Cass is suddenly the star of Bay Island’s rumor mill.

Cass is determined to prove her innocence and save Ellie from meeting the fate in her unfortunate vision. But even with the help of her friends Bee and Stephanie, Cass will have to channel some serious sleuthing instincts to find the real killer…

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

One thought on “The Story Behind Death at First Sight by Lena Gregory

Leave a Reply

