The Story Behind Cat O’Nine Tales by Krystal Lawrence


The fun part of Cat O’Nine Tales, was that it was not just one inspiration…it was ten! I call this endeavor my accidental book because my previous three releases were all full-length novels. This one was very different. When I first began writing the stories in this book, I had no idea that I would write so many short stories over the course of the last year. I certainly never dreamed there would be enough to fill up an entire book and release an anthology, so no one was more surprised than me to cat-o-nine-talessee this book come out. I just liked the story ideas so I wrote them, with absolutely no idea of what would become of them at the time.

Let me tell you a little bit about what inspired a couple of my favorite stories in the book:

The Eternal Sheriff was born when I did a radio interview last year promoting my third book, Risen II: The Progeny. The interviewer asked me if I had ever created a character that refused to die. I told him, “No, but what a fabulous idea! I think I will go find one, and once I tell his story I will send you a copy.” And that is exactly what I did.

As the Crow Flies was very loosely based on a real-life horror story that took place in my back yard when I decided to put up a birdfeeder last summer. I had envisioned sparrows, maybe a few chickadees and a couple stray squirrels. What I got was a scene right out Hitchcock’s The Birds. (Think Tippi Hedren cringing in fear beneath an ominous sky and dozens of ravens.) I heard the most insane chirping going on outside the day after setting up the feeder, so I threw open the blind to investigate the source. To my utter amazement there was literally a wall to wall carpet of maybe a hundred redwing blackbirds jostling each other on my patio, and they were angry! You couldn’t even see the cement beneath them because there were so many crammed into the space. As for the bird feeder, it had been knocked over and pecked dry, which I assume was the cause of their irritation. Later, I crept out under cover of darkness after nightfall and removed the bird feeder. I gave it to my mother…she has calmer birds in her neighborhood.

The decision to illustrate each story made the book that much more enjoyable for me, and I hope for the readers as well. Kira Sokolovskaia is an amazing artist and she really brought each and every story to life for me.

About the Author

krystal-lawrenceKrystal Lawrence lives in the Pacific Northwest. She is the author of three novels—— two vampire stories, Risen and Risen II: The Progeny, and a trilogy entitled, Be Careful What You Wish For which is currently under consideration to be turned into a television series. Cat O’Nine Tales is Krystal’s first and much anticipated collection of short stories. Her books are available through Amazon and all major book retailers.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

