The Story Behind Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury


I got the idea for my third novel, Pop-Out Girl, in 2013 while I was on “vacation” in Las Vegas working on my second novel, A Dead End in Vegas. I was standing on a corner on the Strip one night waiting to cross when I saw one of those tacky, obnoxious trucks go by with a huge sign advertising “Girls That Want To Meet You” with a phone number on it.

As I stood at the corner with my husband, I wondered:  what would happen if a man came to Las Vegas on a business trip and met a beautiful, sweet showgirl—and didn’t know she was his biological daughter from a long-ago first love that he was engaged to. The wedding never took place because his fiancée left town with another guy four days before the wedding and ended up in Las Vegas. She was 18 and pregnant, but didn’t know it.

Anyway, that night in Vegas, we were at the corner crossing as I got this idea. During dinner, I told my husband about it and started developing it. Quickly, I realized the showgirl couldn’t get involved with the man beyond a casual friendship. But he has a very cute, younger colleague she falls for. And that added the potential for all sorts of complications.

Now, I come up with a lot of ideas. If one sticks and I keep developing it, I know it could possibly turn into something. So this process continues for a while…the thinking and developing while I’m working on something else. By the time I’m finished with whatever I’ve been working on, the new idea is ready to go.

Getting ideas for new novels is easy if you stay open and alert to everything going on around you. If you’re a writer with the sort of imagination that notices things, then getting ideas is a natural thing.

I just finished Pop-Out Girl, and I don’t have any specific ideas for a new novel. I’m leaning towards something humorous, or maybe a sequel, which I’ve mapped out in my mind already. We’ll see…

About the Author

Irene Woodbury’s third novel, Pop-Out Girl (2017), pushes a lot of buttons. It’s a gripping look at the tumultuous life of a 23-year-old showgirl-wannabe named Jen Conover who pops out of cakes at special events in Las Vegas for a living. The novel offers riveting glimpses into the loves, lives, triumphs, and tragedies of Jen’s family and friends as well.

Irene grew up in Pittsburgh, and has lived in Chicago, Los Angeles, Honolulu, and Denver. The University of Houston 1993 graduate also called Texas home for seven years. Her writing career began In 2000. After five years as a successful travel writer, she switched to fiction. Irene’s first novel, the humorous A Slot Machine Ate My Midlife Crisis, was published in 2011. The darkly dramatic A Dead End in Vegas followed in 2014. Pop-Out Girl is another dramatic effort. With her husband, Richard, editing, Irene completed the novel in eighteen months. She hopes audiences will enjoy reading it as much as she enjoyed writing it.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

