The Story Behind ‘Black Widow and the Sandman’ by LL Reaper


My first book was published in February 2006. I remember the first time I saw it on the bookshelves. I’d been at my local Barnes & Noble shopping when I went to the fiction section to browse and came upon my book. I knew I’d signed a contract with a publisher and we’d done everything for the books preparation, but for some reason I hadn’t envisioned seeing my book on the shelves.

So needless to say, I was so excited I wanted to scream. Actually, I may have. There just so happened to be a store clerk nearby who asked me if I needed assistance. I pointed to the book and said, “That’s me! That’s me!” I whipped out my trusty dusty I.D. and showed him the name match.  His eyes lit up also. Now don’t get me wrong. I know he has dealt with numerous authors because I’d attended signings at the bookstore often.  But my excitement was something I’ll never forget.

So years go by and I become a multi-published author. Even won a fancy-smacy prestigious award for one of my books, but I never felt that initial excitement of seeing my first book on the shelf.  Kind of makes me wonder if authors are addicts of sorts, looking for that first high.

L. L. Reaper is the pseudonym I’m using with another author for our dangerously sexy suspense series Black Widow and the Sandman.  Writing with a partner is new for me. We are friends and were discussing character development and plots one evening when the three main characters in the Black Widow and the Sandman series were born. We both loved these characters so much that we decided to write this series as a team.

It wasn’t all smooth sailing, we weren’t comfortable writing together until the last few chapters of the book and the developmental editor slammed us and I mean HARD. Here we were, both multi-published authors. I had my big time award, and my book was beat down. Now I must admit that we knew we were in trouble. Neither of us really felt the book but we were tired. We’d written a whole book. So when we got the manuscript back, we had to start over, but this time it was different. By writing that stinker, we’d learned how to write together in one voice, one style. All I can say is thank goodness for honest editors.

Now this go around when the new and greatly improved book went to the developmental editor, she loved it. She knew we could pull it off, as did we.  Our big day for the release of Black Widow and the Sandman was 28 June. I went to the local Barnes & Noble looking for it and was disappointed not to see it there. My little feelings were hurt. As I said before, I’m a multi-published author. I’d gotten used to seeing my book on the shelves. This was the total opposite of the first time I’d seen my book on the shelves.  So I made my purchases and went on about my business. I know I could have asked them to order the book for their store, but it’s not the same.

Yesterday I was visiting a friend and we went to the bookstore near her—because we are addicted to reading. I’m browsing for something to read when she gets all excited and comes running over with a book in her hand. Guess what it was—Black Widow and the Sandman. Guess what I did—said, ‘That’s me! That’s me!” It was back. That original high. Now don’t get me wrong, it always feels good to see your book on the shelf, but this is different.

So that’s my story behind this book and I’m sticking to it.

Thanks for having me.

L.L. Reaper is two multi-published, award-winning authors who decided to write under a pen name for their dangerously sexy suspense series, Black Widow and the Sandman. You can visit their website at www.llreaper.com or connect with them at Twitter at www.twitter.com/llreaper and Facebook at www.facebook.com/AuthorLLReaper.

Leave a comment